Discussion forum - Post and discuss topics here.

Flash Lite 2 announcements and tutorials

Picture of Judy Breck
Flash Lite 2 announcements and tutorials
by Judy Breck - Friday, 10 March 2006, 10:13 PM

Today I received the "developer newsletter" from Adobe/formerly Macromedia. One of the features is the release of the Flash Lite 2 for mobile. The page it points to, which I thought might interest some of you, is:
http://www.macromedia.com/devnet/devices/flashlite.html?trackingid=DEPD

I would be interested from any mobile developers whether you think Flash Lite 2 can be helpful soon in authoring robust cross-platform applications. I am an author and content person and only have a rough conceptual idea of Flash Lite 2 and its potential. Thanks in advance for any clues!
Picture of William Volk
Re: Flash Lite 2 announcements and tutorials
by William Volk - Saturday, 11 March 2006, 7:26 PM

If Flash Lite 2 really runs 'true' Flash apps (Flash on the web) easily it could have a major impact.  Macromedia 'beat' Java Applets on the web, could history repeat itself?  Probabily not, but I hope Flash Lite 2.0 does very well.
Picture of Elmer Zinkhann
by Elmer Zinkhann - Monday, 13 March 2006, 11:44 AM

I believe there's a big market for flashlite 2 apps.
Many developers/designers who are now working with flash have been very cautious in entering the flash lite (1/ 1.5) world, because of the 'old' syntax, and non-cross platform development. Now flash lite 2.0 is out, it will be very easy for many developers to enter the mobile market, by creating apps and games or rich / branded user experiences.

Flash has been at the forefront of stateless apps (now followed by AJAX techniques) , and I think this will be the way forward for mobile applications / mobile web too. I believe that for flash-web developers the step to mobile will be much easier now.

elmer.
Picture of Judy Breck
by Judy Breck - Monday, 13 March 2006, 2:18 PM